Search form

Highly Qualified Teachers

Under the federal No Child Left Behind (NCLB) Act, to be considered highly qualified, teachers must have: 1) a bachelor's degree, 2) full state certification or licensure, and 3) prove that they know each subject they teach.

States are required to measure the extent to which all students have highly qualified teachers, particularly minority and disadvantaged students, adopt goals and plans to ensure all teachers are highly qualified and, publicly report plans and progress in meeting teacher quality goals.

Teachers in middle and high school must prove that they know the subject matter they teach by having a major in the subject they teach, credits equivalent to a major in the subject, passing a state-developed test, holding an advanced certification from the state, or possessing a graduate degree.

States can develop an additional way for current teachers to demonstrate subject-matter competency and meet highly qualified teacher requirements through a process called High, Objective, Uniform State Standard of Evaluation (HOUSSE). Proof of subject-matter competency may include a combination of teaching experience, professional development, and knowledge in the subject garnered over time in the profession.



Article by Ellen R. Delisio
Education World®
Copyright © 2005 Education World