Search form

Carnegie Hall: Listening Adventures
A new way to get to Carnegie Hall -- Click! Click! Click!
GRADE LEVEL: K-2, 3-5, 6-8

This site is designed for youngsters 6-12 to learn about sound, music notation, text, and instruments through engaging Web-based games. Each listening adventure provides a visual interpretation of a piece of music using animated images, activities, and stories.
Listening Adventures is the children's pages of the larger Carnegie Hall site. The games are accessible through graphic links on the main page. They are designed for youngsters and are easily navigated.

This fun and interactive site is a great way for students to learn about the orchestra and its instruments as well as the symphony and some history of Carnegie Hall. The Young Person's Guide teaches students about the four families of musical instruments and their place in the orchestra. Students go on a safari through the instrument filled jungle collecting all the instruments in a problem solving adventure. The Animated History introduces students to the history of Carnegie Hall, highlighting many of the artists and speakers who have appeared there. In Dvorak's Symphony No. 9 "From the New World" students listen to and view an animated version of the symphony while learning about the music, instruments of the orchestra, and the composer. Interactive activities are included along the way.



Education World®
Copyright © 2009 Education World

Updated 2009